Back to articles

O’Brien takes the lead in Series Trainer Rankings

27 Aug 2013

Following on from York's Ebor Festival, there have been significant changes in the Leading Trainer and Jockey Rankings. Last year's winner Aidan O'Brien and Richard Hughes are the current leaders.

Joseph O’Brien and Declaration of War take command in the Juddmonte International Stakes at York. Image copyright of

Last year’s QIPCO Champions Series Leading Trainer Aidan O’Brien has edged ahead in this year’s battle for the top spot, with long-time leader Richard Hannon now demoted to second.

Declaration of War’s surprising victory in the Juddmonte International Stakes provided not only the four-year-old colt with his second Group 1 success of the season, but also gave his trainer 20 vital points in the Series Rankings.

The Queen Anne victor, who has run seven times this campaign, six at Group 1 level, defeated Series star Al Kazeem and Jim Bolger’s Trading Leather to win the International Stakes title on the Knavesmire.

Additionally, O’Brien gained further points when Venus de Milo finished runner-up to the mightily impressive The Fugue in the Darley Yorkshire Oaks.

The Ballydoyle-trained three-year-old’s second means that O’Brien is now on 115 points, while Hannon is still on a mark of 85.

John Gosden, who trains The Fugue, moved on up to third thanks to the filly’s triumph, 10 points ahead of Jim Bolger on 70.

In the QIPCO Champions Series Leading Jockey Rankings, Richard Hughes remains at the top, although, William Buick and Joseph O’Brien’s Champions Series wins throughout York’s Ebor Festival have meant that the gap is narrowing.

Hughes is currently on a mark of 100, with Buick now in second on 90. But, the advances of Irish jockey O’Brien making eye-catching progress in third on 80 points may give the leaders something to worry about as we enter the closing stages of the season.

Kevin Manning and Ryan Moore have a score of 70 and take up the fourth and fifth place spots respectively.

The Haydock Sprint Cup on the 7th September is the next race in the QIPCO Champions Series. Tickets can be bought here.