Back to articles

Maarek set for back-to-back QIPCO Sprint Stakes

2 Oct 2013

The 1-2-3 from last year's QIPCO Sprint Stakes have all stood their ground for this year's £350,000 renewal on QIPCO British Champions Day.

Maarek whizzes home in last year’s QIPCO Sprint Stakes – Can he double up after returning to winning ways at Newbury last time? Image copyright of

Last year’s 1-2-3, Maarek, who returned to form at Newbury last time, Hawkeyethenoo and Sirius Prospect, have stood their ground in the £350,000 QIPCO British Champions Sprint (Group 2, no penalties).

Also engaged is classy sprinter Reckless Abandon and three heavyweights from the Eddie Lynam yard, Sole Power, Slade Power and Viztoria. Lynam also has Balmont Mast in the race.

Aidan O’Brien has left Cristoforo Colombo and the Jersey Stakes winner Gale Force Ten in the race for which 32 remain engaged.

Tickets are continuing to sell strongly with a Premier sell-out now close. Premier tickets are priced at £55 and Grandstand admission is £30.

You can book via the Ascot website or call 0844 346 3000. Under 18’s accompanied by an adult will be admitted free of charge. 

The full list of entries for the QIPCO Sprint Stakes:

Amarillo, American Devil, Balmont Mast, Cape of Approval, Custom Cut, Excellent Guest, Gammarth, Hawkeyethenoo, Heeraat, Hoof It, Humidor, Jack Dexter, Jimmy Styles, Kavanagh, Lover Man, Maarek, Mass Rally, Racy, Rex Imperator, Sirius Prospect, Slade Power, Sole Power, Soul, Swiss Spirit, Cristoforo Colombo, Gale Force Ten, Reckless Abandon, Angels Will Fall, Intense Pink, Ladies Are Forever, The Gold Cheongsam and Viztoria.