Back to articles

5 memorable #ChampionsDay wins!

12 Oct 2016

With more to come on Saturday, we look back on the best performances from recent years

Frankel wins on #ChampionsDay

Frankel lands #ChampionsDay glory for the second time.

1 FRANKEL (2011 and 2012)

The colossus signed off his unblemished 14-race career with a decisive victory over Cirrus Des Aigles in the 2012 Champion Stakes by a length and three quarters in front of a sellout crowd, having won the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes in emphatic style at the meeting 12 months earlier. The late Sir Henry Cecil said: “He’s the best I’ve ever had and the best I’ve ever seen, I’d be very surprised if there’s ever been better.”


At the time the brilliant French gelding’s Champion Stakes win was tainted by controversial whip penalties, which were later reduced. Now, we can remember it for what it was – a superb success in a field that featured six horses with official ratings of 120 or higher. Cirrus Des Aigles was never far away and kept on strongly to beat So You Think by three quarters of a length, with Snow Fairy, Midday and Nathaniel the next three home.


Often chased the shadow of Frankel during his career – he was placed behind him on five occasions – but Excelebration was a top-class performer in his own right and proved it with a superb three-length victory in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes. Rated 125 going into the race – and 129 after it – the 10-11 favourite thumped Cityscape by three lengths, with Elusive Kate a similar distance back in third.

4 FARHH (2013)

The Saeed Bin Suroor-trained five-year-old had been off since winning the Lockinge five months earlier and raced a little keenly behind his pacemaker. Cirrus Des Aigles, the 6-4 favourite, seemed likely to overhaul him for much of the final furlong but Farhh was not for passing and held him off by a neck. Ruler Of The World, the Derby winner, was doing all his best work at the finish and was only half a length further back in third.

5 MUHAARAR (2015)

Confirmed his status as champion sprinter by putting Twilight Son, the Sprint Cup winner, and 18 others firmly in their place under Paul Hanagan. It was his fourth successive Group 1 triumph – a feat rarely achieved in the sprinting ranks. The last sprinter to pull it off it had been Dayjur, another Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum-owned speedster, in 1990.

Book your tickets now to be at Ascot to celebrate with the heroes of this year’s QIPCO British Champions Day