Back to articles

Series stars dominate the Cartier Award nominations

11 Nov 2018

The five horses in the running to named Horse Of The Year have between them won 17 Champions Series races.

Alpha Centauri is among the nominations for Cartier Three-Year-Old Filly and Horse of the Year. Picture:

Stars of this year’s QIPCO British Champions Series dominate the nominations for the Cartier Racing Awards.

The winners of the eight categories will be announced on Tuesday night with the five thoroughbreds in the running to be named Horse Of The Year having won no fewer than 17 Champions Series races between them.

The star-studded quintet are Alpha Centauri, Cracksman, Enable, Roaring Lion and Stradivarius.

All five are also in contention in other categories.

Cracksman and Enable, both trained by John Gosden, are among a quartet of Cartier Older Horse nominations alongside Lightning Spear and Poet’s Word.

Roaring Lion is in contention to be named Cartier Three-Year-Old Colt but is up against Masar, the Investec Derby winner, plus Saxon Warrior and Sands Of Mali.

The Three-Year-Old filly category could hardly be stronger with the brilliant Alpha Centauri in the running alongside the prolific Laurens, plus Sea Of Class and Wild Illusion.

It will be the shock of the night if Stradivarius is not crowned Cartier Stayer. The four-year-old colt carried all before him in 2018 and became only the second horse, after Frankel in 2012, to win five Champions Series races in the same year.

The Cartier Sprinter is a trickier call, with Battaash, Mabs Cross, Merchant Navy and Sands Of Mali nominated.

In total, horses who have won 28 Champions Series races have been recognised.

There are also two categories for two-year-olds. Too Darn Hot is expected to be named top colt but the filly division is less clear-cut, with the shortlist comprising Fairyland, Hermosa, Pretty Pollyanna and Skitter Scatter.

The 28th Cartier Racing Awards will be presented at a glittering ceremony before an invited audience of approaching 300 at the Dorchester Hotel in London.
They are delivered through a tried and tested combination of points earned by horses in Pattern races (30%), combined at the end of season with the opinions of a panel of racing journalists/handicappers (35%) and votes from readers of Racing Post and The Daily Telegraph plus ITV Racing viewers (35%).
The longstanding and prestigious awards were established in 1991 to reward excellence in the sport.