Back to articles

Oisin Murphy named Flat Jockey of the Year at the HWPA Awards

4 Dec 2018

The 23-year-old has enjoyed a fabulous time in 2018 with highlights including wins in five QIPCO British Champions Series races

Oisin Murphy at Goodwood.

Murphy has carried all before him this year. Picture:

Oisin Murphy was named Flat Jockey of the Year -at the 52nd annual Horserace Writers & Photographers Association (HWPA) Derby Awards Lunch, held in London on Monday.

The 23-year-old finished second in the jockeys’ championship to Silvestre de Sousa, has ridden more winners domestically than any other rider in the calendar. year (almost 200) and enjoyed a string of Group 1 triumphs around the globe – including in five QIPCO British Champions Series races.

Murphy, an ambassador for Champions Series, guided Roaring Lion to superb victories in the Coral-Eclipse, Juddmonte International and QIPCO-sponsored Queen Elizabeth II Stakes, plus won the Qatar Sussex Stakes, aboard Lightning Spear, and 32Red Sprint Cup, on The Tin Man.

The Eclipse was his first Group 1 triumph in Britain after a series of near-misses at the highest level, including when third on Roaring Lion in the Investec Derby the previous month.

John Gosden, who saddled the winners of 11 Champions Series races in 2018, was predictably named Flat Trainer of the Year, while John Dance, whose silks are carried by Laurens among others, was named Owner of the Year.

The 2018 President’s Award, decided by the HWPA President Marcus Townend, went to record-breaking trainer Mark Johnston and his wife Deidre. Johnston broke the record this summer for the most winners trained in Britain, after starting out in 1987.